Wise words

RedSionnach

Thanks for posting this, Red. I'm at kind of a crossroads in my life, I'm a land surveyor, but there are essentially zero opportunities locally (I have a spreadsheet with nearly 100 contact reports listed), and when I do manage to find some (temporary) work, I'm going backwards wage wise. So either I find a different path so I can stay local, and still see my four year old son and a girlfriend that I'm pretty fond of (she doesn't realize that she's way too good for the likes of me), or take a job in Montana/Wyoming/North Dakota where I can make pretty good money (both in base wage and OT) and if I'm lucky see them every month or so.

The girlfriend want me to try flipping houses with her, and while there is definitely opportunities to make some money, there's also a real chance of losing your ass if you get into something beyond your abilities. And a fairly recent divorce has pretty much wiped me out financially.

In a thread awhile back I was talking about my wife setting me up on "play dates" with her girlfriends mostly white collar husbands and how it never works........

These guys talk about still paying student loans, not getting what they were lead to believe they were going get salary wise, not being able find a job in there niche.

Then they start talking about there big cookie cutter house, fancy car and fancy vacations.

Then comes the question................ and what do you do. it's funny cause after I tell them I'm a regional Maintenance manager for a large chemical company they kind of question how I have what I have.

In the interest of not embarrassing my wife I bite my tongue.

However.... I have got to where I'm at from hard ass work. I don't feel entitled by any schooling i have received. I live with in my means and don't have 12 credit cards almost maxed out to maintain my "lifestyle", I get up before most and am still working well after they have headed home.