Milwaukee Charger Fail/Repair Needed - on #3

evh

I am on my third Milwaukee M12/M18 model 48-59-1812 charger.  I realize the manual says no serviceable parts.  I have taken them apart and I don't see any blow resistors, capacitors, etc.  Does anyone have any experience with these?  Is there a common failure in these?  Thanks.

't 

Thanks for the quick reply Daniel.  The two broken ones are both out of warranty.  Never been dropped.  I am a mechanic and use them quite a bit.  All are in good visual condition.  Both simply stopped working after a few years of use.  I did see some sell the broken ones on eBay.  So I wonder if:

1. Someone knows how to fix them.

2. People need them for the plastic cases.

Again, I am hoping someone knows how to fix them, or these will end up on eBay as well.

7 hours ago, evh said:

I am on my third Milwaukee M12/M18 model 48-59-1812 charger.  I realize the manual says no serviceable parts.  I have taken them apart and I don't see any blow resistors, capacitors, etc.  Does anyone have any experience with these?  Is there a common failure in these?  Thanks.

't 

From what I know about those and when I lived in oklahoma is that, the city (Edmond) that I lived in had very dirty power as in their power fluctuated consistently if you plugged them directly into the wall there isn't a point where the electricity is filtered and it fluctuations will go directly into whatever is plugged in to the outlet. Now if you're using a surge protector a proper one that works and isnt 5 years old then you've just got bad luck.

I haven't seen or heard of a common failure. Is there a power indication? Does it recognize the battery but doesn't charge? It realistically could be anything on the board, most likely a transistor. You could plug it in while it's open and see if you have anything drawing excess heat. If the part hasn't had it's number rubbed off, you should be able to buy it and get to soldering.