Question about cutting wood

mindzipper

Hi there,

Newbie here, but I've got a question most likely everyone will know.

I've been using tools all my life but I recently needed to purchase a sliding compound mitre saw.. ok well, honestly, i found an excuse to buy a sliding compound mitre saw :)

Here's what I'm doing. I have several thin boards. they're basswood. i use them for chip carving practice. I have about 40. What I'd like to do with the practice boards is cut them in half. I usually do this if I decide to keep something after carving it since mosdt of my work are things like rosettes and about 5 inches.

So i want to cut about 20 of my boards in half. The saw came with a GP blade. it's not a finishing blade. but i don't want to rush out and spend 50 bucks on a new one. Since it's a gp blade, upon testing, it frayed the under side of the board a little. not horribly, but bad enough to be annoying.

The boards are 1/2x6x12. My question is, how many would you feel comfy stacking to cut at the same time?

The saw has a max cut height of 4 inches. it's a 10 inch 500rmp 15a saw. I am clearly not going to stack 8 together and cut them, especialy since they're 6 inches wide, so i have to use the slide too.

I think i'd be safe if I cut 3 at a time. I do have dual clamps on the saw, so i can secure the wood.

what do you think I should try? shouldn't i be ok at 3?

I would go with smaller bunches. It can get a little crazy trying to line up too many boards for one cut. I was cutting 4 2x4's on my 12" Bosch slider that was maxing it out cut wise. To be honest you would have to be cutting some very dense wood to give any of the modern miters any trouble. Getting back to your original question cutting 3 at a time seems like a reasonable amount.

Hello and thanks a bucnh for the response!