Am I missing out not using Snap-On??

ItsaBanana

Probably a stupid topic but one that has been on my mind.

First up, my Father in law was a full on Snap-on guy. Had over $40,000 invested in Snap-on and Mac tools over the course of say 40 odd years. Was a heavy mechanic for John Deere and also work on oil rigs in New Mexico. He needed top end gear.

Anyway, I am a systems engineer and all my tools are based around anti-static for electronics work, drills for installation of servers, workstations, multimeters and all that jazz. I do use good German VDE tools from CK. I use Wera too. Other main brands I use are Fluke, DeWalt, Makita and now starting to buy Milwaukee gear.

Snap-On do have some tools that are of use to my career but they are obviously expensive and would they really be any better than say Wera, Facom, CK, Knipex? I look at my tools as an investment and also hope to someday hand them down to my sons.

Another point is that getting Snappy in the UK is a lot tougher than what we had in Minnesota. There is only one SO guy here within 100 mile radius and he really just pushes for customers to open up high interest rate accounts. I buy all my tools cash. I don't like owning nobody for my stuff.

Plus my mechanic had some SO tools break within 3 months of owning and the SO guy would not replace. Apparently over 40% fail rate on this brand. So negatives are that they are hard to get hold off and expensive.

Am I just paying extra for a name? Are they worth the investment? Also looking at Mac tools.

Just wanted to ask you guys on your opinion.

Probably a stupid topic but one that has been on my mind.

First up, my Father in law was a full on Snap-on guy. Had over $40,000 invested in Snap-on and Mac tools over the course of say 40 odd years.