M12 ratchets

unclebud

I have several M18 gen 2 tools. I am wanting to get into the M12 line. I am trying to decide between the 3/8 and 1/4 ratchets. (2457 and 2456) models. Am also wandering why the 1/4" is $10 higher. I am a mechanic at a Caterpillar dealership, I use both 3/8 and 1/4 regular ratchets  daily. Do you guys have a preference on which of these ratchets to get ? Any and all info would be appreciated.

Can't speak for everyone but for myself I have the 1/4" and it seems to me to be a little stronger for some reason. I'm not using it to wrench larger fasteners but you can use it to crack lose a tight nut/bolt if you have too. And it doesn't feel like it's going to break on you. They tend to run a little slow but faster then manual. I would recommend giving them a try.

I have the 3/8" m12 ratchet, didn't really consider the 1/4" to be honest, I have all the 3/8" sockets I need to get down to the smaller heads on different fasteners.  I don't work on automotive or equipment like you do for a 1/4" to be something I would consider. I really like the 3/8" ratchet, it can tighten down bolts while I hold the nut while running unistrut or like material, and it gets it tight enough just on its own.

I guess if I was in your position, I would buy both! Because I can never have enough m12 tools!

• Like 1

Can't speak for everyone but for myself I have the 1/4" and it seems to me to be a little stronger for some reason. I'm not using it to wrench larger fasteners but you can use it to crack lose a tight nut/bolt if you have too. And it doesn't feel like it's going to break on you. They tend to run a little slow but faster then manual. I would recommend giving them a try.

Seems to be a little stronger than what? just wondering what you were comparing it to