Need Some Help Choosing A Combo Kit!

pingman222

Hey Guys! Newbie here and i'm looking to get some insight to choosing a new combo kit from santa.

My last cordless drill was a sears craftsman special 19.2V monster that was terriby uncomfortable to use for the 7 minutes of battery life that it would give.  Needless to say, i'm due for an upgrade.  My wife and I will be moving to a new house in January and we will need the tools to do everything there from the very basics of just hanging stuff (large mirrors w/ lags) etc to finishing the basement, building the deck and fence, and garage shelving etc.  I will not be using these for everyday professional use, so keep that in mind!

I've been reading lots about these specific tools i've listed and it's probably made it more impossible to make a decision, i know in the end, all of them will probably be capable enough for my use, but i'm curious to see what others think!

I'll start with the 12V's.  I'm not sure anyone will recommend these when my uses include deck building, but lets just see!

Milwaukee M12 Brushed - 2494-22 - $118 - Good size, nice and compact, the cheapest of the bunch and still not terrible on the power scale.  Smaller included batteries but overall a decent kit for the money.

Milwaukee M12 Fuel - 2597-22/2594-22 - $339/$299 accordingly if you choose the hammer drill or not.  Not sure i need it but its always open for discussion!  3x the cost of the brushed line (not currently on sale anywhere, might change after x-mas?).  This would be my ideal set for size/weight/power/features however, the cost is pretty prohibitive to be honest.  I have a milwaukee service factory near my work here and they have a reconditioned set for $249, but i think the extra money to go new would be worth the full warranty easily.