using a impact driver as a hammer drill?

justin22

What would happen if you tried using a impact driver to drill into cement like a hammer drill? just curious...

You'd probably wear out the carbide chisel on the mortar bit prematurely or break it outright. Carbide is only used on the tips of bits because it is brittle but exceedingly hard. If you look at a mortar bit it really is just a little chisel on the tip that's designed to chip away the concrete from an axial force being applied by the hammer of the drill. Just torquing it, a la impact driver/wrench, and you're just twisting the chisel and not hammering it in. Also that's why diamond bits are supposed to just be spun without the hammer action. Abrasion cut vs. chisel out.

I'm no expert on the physics involved but that's the way I understand it.

That Irwin video is interesting but I would still go with a hammer drill over an impact. For one project or two I suppose it wouldn't be the end of the world, but on any regular basis you're better off with a tool better-suited to the task I would think.

That Irwin video is interesting but I would still go with a hammer drill over an impact. For one project or two I suppose it wouldn't be the end of the world, but on any regular basis you're better off with a tool better-suited to the task I would think.

I remember seeing someone use a metal bit with a regular corded drill to drill through a poured wall, it took them forever but they did it

Everything depends on what you're drilling.  A carbide bit will go through most masonry without hammering but not well. Then again you can run a spade bit through some brick without hammering.  Using an impact driver does have some advantage over a drill but thats only if you press hard enough to cause impacting which is almost impossible with a tapcon bit.