newbie here...

DIYorDie

Hi all,

I've always been interested in power tools and diy projects and for a few years I stated buying Harbor freight tools and black and decker, Last year I decided to upgrade my tools when I saw the combo below during black Friday at 499.99.  I thought all dewalt tools where pro-grade but now that I have been researching realized that I was wrong.  I always thought Black and decker, Ryobi  , Ridgid homeowner and  dewalt , milwaukee , Makita, hilti and porter cable pro. And I realized that its much more complicated than that..  I know for a fact that the recip. saw does not have a movable shoe and the circ. saw has a metal base instead of the fancy one but are they the same insides?  The only tool from this combo that I did not like was the drill which I upgraded (at least that what I think) to the new dcd777 entry level.  would you consider this combo at 500 a good deal? Are the tools in this combo kit any good? or did they just paint the Black and decker tools yellow?:angry: 

http://www.homedepot.com/p/DEWALT-20-Volt-MAX-Lithium-Ion-Cordless-Combo-Kit-9-Tool-DCK940D2/206510146

• Like 1

First off, welcome to TIA! Now that that's out of the way, at one point that stuff was Dewalt's high end gear. It's not bad stuff. To speak to individual tools; it's well known that Dewalt can't make a reciprocating saw to save their life; even their new brushless one doesn't have an adjustable shoe or rafter hook.

Brushed grinders are all in the same boat; you can use them as cut off tools but they are easy to stall when grinding and battery hungry.

Metal shoes are standard on decent saws. I would guess that saw has a magnesium or aluminum shoe as most good saws do.