20v sawzall pronounced dead

PaulE

After a few years of abuse (3yr) my 20v sawzall died on me yesterday. the day before it was abused to the point it was red hot. today the battery seemed loose and would only work while holding the battery. Next i got a electrical smell and it stopped working. havent had time to take it apart and see if i can find the issue.

I am happy with all my dewalt tools, just wish they had a brushless saw to replace this one. I am commited to yellow and black due to the number of tools and batteries i own.

Question is- should i buy another premium 20v reciprocating saw or the stubby recip (never used one)

any chance of a new sawzall coming out any time soon? if so i will buy a cheap used or refurb one to hold me over until it is availible.

I am a commercial GC and electrician. I use and abuse my 20v sawzall daily.

We just had our 18v reciprocating die at work yesterday, and it's only a little over a year old. Sometimes tools just decide it's time to go, and we either repair them, send them out to get repaired, or buy a new one. Or, you do what a lot of people do these days, you buy a new one, wait a few weeks, then throw the old one in the box and return it. Sad, but true...

Since you do have m18 batteries then wouldnt it be possible to but the m18 fuel sawzall without batts ? :)

I don't carry the m18 in my daily truck. I really don't want to carry 2 battery platforms on me at all times. But I was looking at fuel sawZall this week.

Send it in for warranty. If its only 3 yrs old, you still have a warranty. You dont need a receipt, it goes of serial number

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I sent my hammer drill that cane with the same kit almost a year ago and they wouldn't fix it for free. They wanted $140 to repair it. I bought a new brushless for 120.

Good news.

I took the saw apart tonight. It was a simple fix