Compressor or move to Battery Operated?

taylorv1

I currently have a Husky 3 gallon compressor, and a 18 gauge Senco Finish Nailer. I was looking into possibly ditching the compressor and turning to Battery Operated Nail Guns? I am a woodworker, with my own small business. What are your guys thoughts? What brand Battery Operated Nail Guns would you recommend? Or, should I stick with a compressor? Thanks.

if your primer use is finish guns and you don't run bigger nailing guns or air tools, air sprayers then i would say ya get into the market of cordless finish nailers but always hold on to that compressor. i know a lot of people on here use the ryobi cordless finish guns and they love them, plus dewalt just announced their cordless finish gun. if you are going to stick with a compressor look in to Rol-air i have there airbuddy compressor and it is perfect for small jobs, inside work and punch list stuff plus it is really really quite.

Pete's right about hanging on to the compressor just in case.  I've used Ryobi's new guns and I've heard nothing but good things about them.  They are quite a bit larger than pneumatic nailers, so if you gotta get into really tight areas that is where your compressor and pneumatic gun will come in handy.

You could wait for the new ridgid 18v nailer to come out.  Bushless hyperdrive....

http://toolguyd.com/ridgid-hyperdrive-brushless-nailers/

Looks like there may be several new releases coming. Including porter cable 

https://twitter.com/rrescot/status/589146755125612546/photo/1

I know the last iteration of the 18v nailer from ridgid didn't get great reviews. I got one on clearance and it seems to work ok, but people (you know, the web collective) stated it was pretty finicky.

Maybe they evolution is coming soon